music writing

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@screaminside)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

my question is about music writing
i wrote lyrics for more than one song but the problem is that is i cant find the perfect music ...i say in my mind no that chord will be better than this one ...then new riff comes so i compare and confuse.....so i change the music and lyrics till every things go to the wrong way ...
my way is to use the known chord progressions ( 1,4,5 ) of a scale and ( 1,3,5,7)of a scale and others.
or to know the basic notes used by the vocals then put for every note (a the chord of the third note after it or the chord of the 5th note )of the vocals notes .....
i need advices please in details.
another thing
I started learning guitar about a year and a half ago, and i do mistakes while playing...is that normal??

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Chords and melody have to work together; I like to work with one first, then the other - if you try both at the same time it's a lot more difficult.

Let's say you've done a chord progression first. Look at each chord and identify the notes - then try to come up with a basic melody that uses only those chord tones. After you have a basic melody written, then you can 'decorate' it with momentary notes outside the chords.

If you're working the other way, take your melody in chunks of one or two measures at a time. Look at the notes, and ask yourself "what chord do these tones make"? You can ignore notes that are very short, especially if they happen in between beats.