Clear all

A Little Bit of Inspiration

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@dommy09)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Now I don't want to make this thread seem like i'm bragging or looking for attention, but i do want to hopefully inspire fellow guitarists!

For some reason, I am missing a metatarsal (finger bone) on my ring finger (fourht finger) in my left hand. I don't know why, it's probably the weirdest thing ever, i guess i just was born without it. Consequently, my ring finger is only about a 1/4 of an inch longer than my pinky.

I didn't realise this till after i had been playing guitar for about 2 years (which is weird too!) I think the discovery came when i was having a lot of trouble with barre chords, because my finger is so much shorter, it doesn't have the reach, and it always buzzes against the strings below it. Naturally i try to avoid barre chords as much as possible!
I have considered learning left handed, and maybe in the long run it would be easier, but since i have been playing for about 6 years it feels really comfortable to play right handed. I realise it's not a major problem, it could be worse, i have heard of guitar players with 4 or even 3 fingers still playing, and that really brings me to the point of me sharing my tale with you.

Anyways, the point of this story is to let other players who might be physically disadvantaged (short fingers, maybe arthritis?, a host of other hand problems) realise that you can still rock out no matter what is trying to hold you back! In fact, in the long run, the process becomes more rewarding :D

Peace,
Dom

"We all have always shared a common belief that music is meant to be played as loud as possible, really raw and raunchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." -Bon Scott

(@elderberry)
Eminent Member

Indeed. I don't suffer from any abnormalities in my digits, but many do.