Skip to content
Any multi stringed ...

Notifications
Clear all

Any multi stringed intrument people here?

20 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@oldiron)
Estimable Member

I've been playing the guitar for about 20 yrs, just inherited a banjo. It's kind of old, the top tuning peg is painful to turn and buzzes and the thing is as heavy as lead, but I'm digging it.

Anyone want to discuss?

Sounds like you've inherited a quality instrument that needs to be adjusted and possibly needs the head replaced. NOT a big deal. A quality banjo has a very heavy resonator ring where cheap ones do not. The head (as in drum) is the equivilant of the soundboard on a guitar. They don't last forever and should be replaced every 25 years or so. Take it to a shop that sells to the country/bluegrass crowd and they should be able to help you out.

I'm more of a banjo picker than a guitarist. You will find that freting a banjo is easier than a guitar. They are a little rougher on the left hand fingers because of the very light guage strings.

What you will find difficult is the picking. You have strums like you do with a guitar. Then you will have a pinch where you pull out on the strings with a grab pull motion. Finaly there are rolls where you pick with your thumb then fingers one at a time or alternate between thumb and fingers. If you have ever seen Linsey Buckingham (Fleetwood Mac) play guitar he uses banjo rolls to give him that unique sound on the guitar.

Visit http://www.banjohangout.org/ Lots of good stuff!

I may be going to hell in a bucket but at least I'm enjoying the ride. (Jerry Garcea)

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Yep....... 12-strings and 6-strings (and the occasional 11-string or 5-string!) Am considering a dulcimer..............