Skip to content
Anyone in here neve...

Notifications
Clear all

Anyone in here never take guitar lessons from a teacher?

45 Posts
30 Users
0 Likes
(@djdubb)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Just wondering! :lol:

"Failure is the key to success" Lee Wen; Champ vs Champ

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

I've never had lessons from a teacher, but that does not mean I haven't had lessons. I would buy good guitar instruction books and study those.
I spent a lot of time copying records. I would also watch good guitar players and copy what they were doing on guitar.

Probably the greatest advantage of being self-taught is that you develop a very good ear. I can learn most songs by just listening to a recording in a few minutes.

The downside is that I do not have a very good understanding of theory, and I do not sight read very well.

I think you can improve quicker by having lessons and have a better understanding of music. So if you can afford lessons, take them.

But if not, just play. You'll get it.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@bstguitarist)
Reputable Member

I have never taken a guitar lesson in my life, though I have and did use books to learn I still didnt have a teacher. In lessons you have a teacher showing your how to do thing when you got a book you mainly have to figure out your on way. Now I am taking a Music Theory Class at my high school but it doesnt teach guitar nor is it really lessons because im not paying for it and its a class not just one teacher and one student.

No matter what anyone says, these four men were the Innovators! of modern Rock & Roll!

Morse Code... Music on it's own

ReplyQuote
 bltc
(@bltc)
Trusted Member

I never had a teacher throughout my guitar journey. I started three years ago reading websites, (especially this one :mrgreen: ) and started from scatch.

Being in band for a few years helped me with some basic things.