Clear all

Bland Playing

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@xeran)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for a a few years now. Mainly learning by playing other people's music, like my favorite songs and stuff.

Now the time is come where I would really like to play better, as in writing my own stuff. Being able to fiddle around with the guitar and not hate what I do.

Any suggestions or thoughts?

Lost hope in life? Visit http://bobsagetonline.com

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Well, I'll suggest it first since I know it will be suggested anyway. LOL

But make a dedicated effort in the Sunday Songwriters Group. You'll create songs that get you thinking outside the box, get a tremdous support group that will make suggestions for you, and at the end of a year you'll have up to 52 of your own songs to play for folks.

Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@xeran)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the suggestion.

I think I'll give that a shot. I'm not sure I understand too much of how to join in on it, though.

Lost hope in life? Visit http://bobsagetonline.com

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Its really pretty simple. Each week, on Sunday, the moderator will post the idea for a song. Its a generic think like this week "Write a song about something that inspires you" You interpret what you think that means and you write the lyrics for a song. Alot of us will even write out a TAB'd chord progression, OR if you have the equipment you can even record it and post a link to the recording so folks can hear it.

What is great about it is that it causes you to be more, on the spot, creative. Your writing about a theme someone else has come up with.

To be polite, it a good idea to recipocate and critique others writing.