Notifications
Clear all

college and moving to san diego is me.

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@curbside_prophet)
Topic starter  

I am in 8th grade.  I am 12.  (Don't leave!)  Anyway, I started playing the guitar in April, and everyone else says it's too early for such things,  but I wanted to be a musician since I was seven, and to me that's a long enough time.
I was going to move to San Diego when I graduate when I'm 17 and go play music there.  But my problem is I never did know how to start a band.  I've never been very social, and the people I know are either too immature for such responsibilities, or they don't know anything about music.  I also don't know how to go about doing anything else.  I'm going to do that sending a demo to a mmanager thing, but I don't know any managers either.
I'm just so confused, and the guidance counselors at school refuse to help, because at school they're the You're Too Young For That! type, or the You Have To Have A Traditional Lifestyle type, which I hate, only too bad they're everywhere.
-Laura ???

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

Hey Laura - don't run away!  There are lots of musical opportunities around you, if you know where to look.  Read through some of the articles in the Other Side forum.

If you feel that you are older than your classmates, then look to see if you can jam with older kids, or even adults.  You've got a lot of energy to put into music, so don't give up hope yet.

-Laz

ReplyQuote
(@lauralasley)
Estimable Member

Laura,
You are never too young to play!  A lot of great artists started playing and writing songs at just your age or even younger.  If you love it, go for it and keep on playing. You will only get better.
It does get frustrating waiting for people your age to catch up to your abilities, but as Laz says, you can find older people to play with.