Direction

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@redsfan75)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok, so here's my current challenge.

I started playing when I was in my mid to late teens. Mostly Bluegrass and country rythmn. Played in church a lot but still rythmn. Later I moved to bass and played bass for many years in a wide variety of styles, keeping the rythmn guitar skills in the corner but not letting them get too rusty.

Now, I don't play bass with a group anymore, and I'll fill in at church only occasionally, so I've been dusting off the guitar more, and have re-kindled the passion for it that got me started on it many years ago. After a bit it started coming back pretty well, Chords and changes, strumm patterns and rythmns, all feel natural, and I can play songs pretty quickly as an accompanist or rythmnist. 8)

So the dilemma is this, while I have a very wide range of chords and rythmns, in so many ways I feel like a beginner. Scale patterns are familar because of the bass, but I've not focused on them in with the guitar. I pick up a book and it's focus is learning the stuff I know already. I pick up an intermediate lesson and it's got stuff in that I don't know that was covered in a beginner book. So I'm having a problem trying to figure out what parts from the beginner side I need to back up and fill in, and what parts to pursue going forward. I know I need to really get the scales and patterns down on the guitar, and I've been working on that.... So what now? :?

I tend to lean more toward the Jazz sound or even blues. I've got a nice semi-hollow body that's my main guitar, I've been looking at some jazz lessons and stuff but pretty much just floundering around for now.
I need a plan to proceed! :)

Any Advice?

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

If Jazz is your goal, and you're already pretty well versed as a musician, I'd pick up a copy of Johnny Smith's The Complete Johnny Smith Approach to Guitar

Start on page 1 and just work through it.