Dream Come True, sorta

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

One of my dreams, as a guitarist, came true this weekend. Since I started playing guitar a few years ago I really want to play in a band and preferably I wanted to play in a worship band.. one of the rockin contemporary new church kind.. I know its not the typical dream but I am older and really its all I have wanted to do for two years.

Two weeks ago we met with a couple that is starting a new church in our area and the wifey and i have been looking for one. Then the pastors wife noticed I played guitar via my facebook page. Saturday she asked if I wanted to play in the band. REALLY :shock:

The only thing is that I am typically a strummer/singer. I have played very little lead and that is what they are needing my help with. I am sure I can do it, I am just not really as comfortable with it.

Anyway, thought I would share my dream come true and I'm open to suggestions on how to practice for playing lead rather than rhythm. We start practice in a couple weeks. 8)

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

(@redbeard)
Trusted Member

Jim,

I am a beginner so no lead suggestions, just wanted to post my congratulations on getting an opportunity to fulfill one of your dreams.

Knock em dead.

"I just curse the sun so I can howl at the moon" ~QOTSA

ReplyQuote
(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member

congrats! That's something I've wanted to ever since I picked up guitar. Had two opportunities for it to happen now, and they both sorta just fell through.

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Congratulations on the dream-come-true and having the opportunity to play & worship.

There will be more constructive advice for leads, but you can practice around backing tracks.

I don't do it much - I just make up my own licks; but you will work around scales in the appropriate key.