Notifications
Clear all

F maj chord opinion

22 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@tinsmith)
Prominent Member

Bass string gets the thumb, sorry about my clarification.

I like to do it this way so I can play the bass string & play lil mini riffs on the thin strings at the same time.

E---------------X--------------
B---------------1---------------
G---------------2---------------
D---------------3--------------
A---------------3--------------
E---------------1--------------

ReplyQuote
(@hanging-chord)
Estimable Member

I (almost) always play the full barre. It sounds better to me, and most of the chords I play are barre chords, so the transition is usually easier as well. Maybe I'm a bit blunt in the ears (no finesse knowing when to use a partial voicing instead), but I'll give myself some slack since I'm still a beginner. :mrgreen:

(I'm so thick I even avoid the open D, preferring instead to barre it as a C on fret 2 :oops: )

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

(I'm so thick I even avoid the open D, preferring instead to barre it as a C on fret 2 :oops: )

what? :?

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

CAGED: standard open C form slid up two frets and barred = D

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

ahh.

ReplyQuote
(@snoty)

If your not good at bar chords wrap your thumb around and grab the Low F note If your playin' with a bass player you won't miss the guitar low note.

ReplyQuote
(@spides)
Estimable Member

I've been mostly playing punk, jazz, reggae and ska for the last year or two so it's fairly rare that I'll play a six voiced chord, except on solo acoustic, and even then...