Notifications
Clear all

Gretsch - opinions?

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@gwydi)
Topic starter  

Ever since seeing Chris Cheney's (The Living End), I've been in love with the Gretsch White Falcon (although I think his is an original, not a reissue, but we can't all be rich rock stars).

I turn 40 in a few years and am planning to save to buy myself one, but in the meantime I was thinking of getting one of their basic guitars. I played a Double Jet yesterday and loved it, but it's out of my price range. So I was thinking of a Junior Jet II.

Any opinions on the JJ2, and/or Gretsch guitars in general? I know they're made by Fender but I don't know enough about guitars to know if that matters or not. I'm in Australia, so they're all imports to me.

BTW I'm only in my first year of learning guitar (at 37), so my needs are fairly basic. My other guitar is an Ibanez semiacoustic which I love.

Thanks,
Gwydi

http://www.gwydi.com

(@racer-y)
Estimable Member

Maybe it's a generation thing? I'll turn the Big 40 in August
I grew up with funky shaped flying Vs, Strataclones and
anything with a weird shape and a locking whammy bar.
Nowadays, if it don't have "F" holes... I find it suspect.
I've never actually played one, but from what I've seen,
Gretsch knows what they are doing when it comes to workmanship.
The way I figure, if they're going to go to that extreme to
MAKE the thing, then they probably went that far to make it SOUND
that good too. :)

LOL I wonder if Grolsch Beer drinkers like Gretsch Guitars?

and if this is any indication, Brian Setzer Rocks :)

I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed, but when
you're a 22lb sledge, do you really have to be?

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Gretsch are excellent guitars - buy one. In fact, buy two. Sell your children for medical experiments; mortgage the cat; invent fictitious relatives, insure them and then pretend they've popped their clogs - whatever it takes.

I want to be a Gretsch when I grow up.

Best,

A :-)