Skip to content
Holding the plectru...

Notifications
Clear all

Holding the plectrum with my thumb and 2 fingers.

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@redwarp)
Topic starter  

is there any problem with holding a plectrum with a thumb and 2 fingers?

i have been told by my guitar teacher that i should hold the plectrum with my thumb and index finger, while other people say "if it feels right its right"

i have been playing for 4 years and i now feel like all the practicing on my picking has gone to waste.

What are your thoughts on this?

Cheers

(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

My 2 cents,

Hi, I used to hold the pick with two fingers and a thumb and I found strumming easier with that method (or I should say holding the pick was easier). A friend suggested I use the index and thumb and my picking improved more quickly. My strumming suffered for a while, but now it feels natural. I am glad that I switched.

Good luck

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

The only time you'll suffer is when you want to hybrid pick i.e. plucking a note with your pick and remaining fingers at the same time.

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Most (but not all) good guitarists hold a pick with thumb and index.

Besides hybrid picking, the thumb/index grip presents the pick fairly parallel to the strings in a very relaxed manner. Doing that with thumb and two fingers means adding a slight tension to the wrist/pinky side of the hand - try it both ways and you'll see what I mean.

That tension may hurt on fast passages.

On the other hand, most guitarists don't play fast all the time, and when they do they usually don't play fast for a really long time, so you may be able to compensate.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member