Notifications
Clear all

How long have you been playing ?

38 Posts
33 Users
0 Likes
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I think I've reached the point where I should stop telling people. Seriously. Because when people ask and I tell them, the most common response now is "Whoa... that's before I was born!"

I started teaching guitar for a living in 1978. I'd been playing for a while then :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@the-dali)
Noble Member

Been playing on-and-off for about 7 years. My wife bought me an acoustic for my 30th birthday and I picked up an electric about 6 months later. She probably wished she'd never bought me that acoustic!

My greatest memory of playing was teaching my daughter about notes and how they repeat on the fretboard and then showing her how that translates to the piano (she is 6 and starting piano lessons). She IMMEDIATELY picked it up and we started to work out a rudimentary version of Day Tripper. Wow.

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

ReplyQuote
(@davem)
Estimable Member

Since about 1979. Wow, if only I had anything to show for it or was any good.

Dave

Sometimes in life you get shown the light,
In the strangest of places if you look at it right.

ReplyQuote
(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Well, I remember I started playing when I was in Grade 6. In about a month it will be about 2 years since I graduated from college from a 4 year program. So that's about 12 years! Keep in mind however that I didn't play as much during my college years, I'm sure there are alot of guitar players that haven't been playing for as long as I have that are better than me.

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@violet-s)
Reputable Member

A few years here and a few years there.