learning in plateaus

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@mordeth)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hey all,

I dont know if anyone else gets this, but learning guitar is kind of like climbing stairs, one big jump, then a period of flatness, then a big jump etc.
also it usually comes right after i get so frustated that i dont pick the guitar up for a few days. does anyone else find this ?

i think there's a hendrix quote that goes something like 'sometimes you'll hate the guitar, but if you stick with it you'll be rewarded' (slightly abbreviated version but you get the idea).

anyone else find this to be true? do share :D

This is my signature. Fear it.

(@Anonymous)

Being a teacher I can tell you first hand that you are going to run into plateaus with EVERYTHING you try to learn. That is just the nature of learning. Sometimes its due to boredom and sometimes its due to lack of confidence. Still sometimes it could be because of something not even related to what you are trying to learn. Something else may be going on in your life that will effect your learning.

I have quit the guitar in the past because I felt I wasn't good enough to be able to play. It was "too hard" or "I'll never be able to do this". The key is keeping the joy in what you are trying to learn.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Oh yes!! Little story. I had come to a place with my teacher where I wasnt very happy to say the least. First I started playing less, then not at all, then I just quit seeing him. I was frustrated cause I felt like I sounded horrible. A few weeks later I had a chance to think about why my lessons werent going well and started seeing him again. The first lesson back it was like I couldnt make a mistake. He would show me something and I would pick it up first try.