Clear all

Making guitar effects as a business

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@prndl)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I just finished making an Ibanez TS-808 clone, and am finishing a custom pedal that makes a sound like Boston.

I have a degree in Electrical Engineering, so I can understand schematics, design and modification,
although I am a bit rusty at it.

Is it possible to set up a profitable business building and selling custom guitar effects pedals?

1 watt of pure tube tone - the Living Room Amp!
http://www.naturdoctor.com/Chapters/Amps/LivingRoomAmp.html
Paper-in-oil caps rule!

(@manitou)
Estimable Member

If you have something different and of good quality to offer people will buy it. Profitibilty is directly dependent on how you run things, would it be a one man shop or an outsourced operation? Things to considder.

SHUT UP ABOUT IRON MAIDEN SOLOS AND GO PRACTICE!
-Manitou

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

"profitable" is a relative term.

In all likelihood, what you're doing won't get you far by itself but might make some good extra change.

Your first big problem would be actually having the rights to produce the item you're using a schematic for. There are IP rights issues involved that don't mean much when you're making a pedal for personal use, but can really be a big deal if you're selling them in bulk.

Then there's the issue of buying in bulk to get a decent price point.

It's probably something you can make some spare change doing, but real money isn't going to be found here unless you're mod'ing pedals and are really good at it.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@manitou)
Estimable Member