Clear all

Might loose index finger, need advice on playing

24 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@wmwise)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey Guys, I was in an accident at work and it looks like I might loose the use of my index finger. Do you think that it might be possible to teach myself to use only the three fingers or will it be better to try and learn to play left handed?? I play acoustic in a country band.
Any advice will be VERY helpful. I have been playing for many years, just kills me to think that I might not be able to do it anymore.
Have even been thinking that I might have to go to a steel guitar or maybe a 4 string tenor guitar.

Thanks in advance!!
Bill

De Oppresso Liber

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

You can play right-handed; you'll just need to change some fingerings around. Django Reinhardt lost the use of two fingers (ring and pinky) on his fretting hand, and still became one of the all-time great guitarists.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

A tenor guitar is great for rhythm. My wife has one and though it's right-handed (I'm a lefty), I pick it up now and then and really love it.

Lap steel is really nice too. I've gotten into it just this past year, and it's great; no fretting! And (I think) you mostly use your thumb and middle finger to slant the steel. With a pedal steel, as I understand it, you don't really even have to do slants if you don't want.

You might also be able to get into open tunings. If your guitar is setup right, you could do barres with the middle finger, or just do those open tuning 2-finger chords that you could probably do with middle and pinky, or middle and ring finger.

And then use one of those quick-change capos like the Kyser, to match each song.

Heck, if you're thinking about steel, you might just combine the open tunings with a slide and be an awesome slide-guitarist. With a country type band that might really fill up the sound--even doing chords.