Notifications
Clear all

New Fender Jaguar/Jazzmaster?

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@grunge00125)
Topic starter  

So I've been playing guitar for almost 2 years now. I own an epiphone Dot, and an LTD EC-50(which is a piece of crap). I wanted a high end guitar so i was looking around and what did i find?

A Fender Jaguar! Fender recently released the Fender Classic Series Jaguars and Jazzmasters. I am a HUGE fan of Nirvana, Sonic Youth, The Cure, and My Bloody Valentine and i thought "Wow, this could be the guitar!" So i went to my local guitar store and tried out the "Classic Player Jaguar". It was amazing!

Now heres where my questions come in.

1. What exactly is the difference between a jag and a jazzmaster? i realize the jaguar has all the switches and buttons for the lead/rythm circuit and stuff(which, judging from pics of a jazzmaster, they either dont have the buttons/switches or they have considerably less(cuz a jag has like 7 lol))

2. Well after some more research i found out that there is another new jaguar called the "Classic Player Jaguar Special HH" or somethin. it is the same as the classic player jaguar except is has humbuckers and it has a coil tap system AND it has a killswitch. and it is the same price as the regular classic player jaguar. The only thing is: would it be good for some heavier music? because i also like to play extreme metal soooo yeah i was just wondering.

3. Is the tremelo arm on jags/jazzmasters any good? becasue i've seen some players use it a lot(such as sonic youth and my bloody valentine) and other people completely take it off the guitar(such as kurt cobain). I kind of like to use tremelo arms so i was just wondering if the jag/jazz tremelo arm is any good?

anyways im sorry this is so long. thank you for your time. :)

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member