Clear all

Playing in different (neck) positions

27 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

The ongoing thread on playing in different positions (sitting, standing, slouching, etc.) has caused one poster to express surprise, as the subject line seemed to suggest different neck positions. Well, ever eager to oblige, I thought I'd bring the discussion to the neck.

I'm a self-taught guitarist, and I've been trying lately to improve by using books, DVDs, and online lessons. But people keep referring to first position, second position, etc., and everyone seems to assume that everyone else knows what these positions are.

Well, I don't. :oops: I assume that this relates somehow to the C-A-G-E-D system of chord positions, but I'm not sure how this relative organization of chords would map onto absolute positions on the neck. Why would some frets anchor positions and some not? If every fret is a position, what use would the system be? :shock:

Oh, this is pathetic! :evil: Can someone help me?

(@alangreen)

When we talk about playing at certain positions, that's based on the fret you finger with your Index finger.

If you barre the 7th fret and use an E-shape chord, then you're playing at the 7th position. Ditto if you're playing a blues solo with your Index finger fretting the 7th fret. Positions are specified a lot in classical guitar music so that players can fret all the voices properly.

CAGED is great. If you fret D using the C-shape then you're playing at the 2nd position, move up to use the A-shape to play D and you're at the 5th, and so on, and CAGED takes you through all those position plays without you realising it.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member
Topic starter