Notifications
Clear all

Playing in different (neck) positions

27 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

exellent illustration of your point there wes. thanks - ill give that a go. im actually working hard on improving my blues at the minute (as well as learning some new songs for the band) - so i will try to use this idea with my backing tracks.
so basically if i learn the 1 4 and 5 note positions in the 1st box, then i can use this idea in any key?

great idea cheers.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Exactly. :D

Learn each interval (relating to the Root) in each box. Learn the note name too. If you are playing Blues especially and using the Minor Pentatonic scale, you want to know where the Root, 4th, and 5th notes are in each box or pattern.

But as I said, C is the flatted 3rd over the A chord, it is a blue note. But that same C note is also the flatted 7th over the D chord.

A= Root for A, 5th for D, 4th for E
C= flatted 3rd for A, flatted 7th for D
D= 4th for A, Root of D, flatted 7th for E
E= 5th for A, Root for E
G= flatted 7th for A, 5th for D, flatted 3rd for E.

So, look at the fantastic interval options you have right there for a simple 12 bar Blues in the key of A. All from the five notes of the A Minor Pentatonic scale. :D

Edit- And of course, if you were playing a Blues in B and wanted to use the B Minor Pentatonic scale, you simply move each of these notes up two frets (one whole step). The box patterns and intervals are exactly the same in relation to each other.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

Wes, just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to post all of that. Like most of you poosts, I've learned alot! 8)