Clear all

Teacher?

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@bleaseyhighflyer)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Ive been playing for about six months and have picked up quite a lot along the way. However i feel my playing is starting to get 'stuck in a rut'. All im doing is trying to learn songs (which i mostly learn by ear) even though i dont really know what notes im playing. I know the shapes of a few obvious scale (e.g. minor pentatonic, major, minor, various blues scales) but dont really know the notes apart from the root notes

THAT'S why ive decided to try and get tuition. I was just wondering what are reasonable rates for an hour or so of a teachers time ( in £ss please) and where i may be able to hear abut a tutor

Thanks very m uch for help

" Ah man, that went down like a lead balloon."

(@markminni)
Eminent Member

A good teacher is worth whatever your willing to pay them.

A good teacher (amoung other things):
1)teaches you to become a musician via the guitar.
2)corrects your bad habbits and mistakes.
3)has the ability to point out your strength and or weaknesses

A bad techer is a waste of money.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

teaches you to become a musician via the guitar

In more than 25 years of teaching, I've found that's the one thing that can't really be taught. We can correct errors, and guide the development of technique... and encourage and guide the development of listening skills that are critical to musicianship.... but we can't 'teach' someone to become a musician.

That comes from desire, I think, perhaps coupled with some innate inner musical sense.

If I spend a few years with a student, I can turn them into a capable guitar player. I might be present while they become a musician, but I think I'm just the cheerleader for that part. :)

I guess we're like gardeners... we prepare the beds and water the seeds, but the magic of a perfect bloom comes from a higher source.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote