teaching rhythm

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@martin-6)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hi,
I have been teaching someone acoustic guitar for a few months (a complete beginner) and I'm having problems getting her to learn how to strum a rhythm. If I set a particular strumming pattern and we work on it for about half an hour, she can get the hang of it, but if I ask her to come up with her own rhythms she is unable to do so, even on the simplest of songs. I've shown her lots of examples of simple rhythms for the songs we work on, but when she tries to go it alone it just becomes a muddled sequence of uncertain upstrokes and downstrokes. She doesn't seem to have much natural sense of rhythm - well, she can count a beat, but her hand coordination seems to be at a much lower level.
How can I teach her strumming confidence? I have tried all sorts of examples and exercises, like one downstroke on each chord, or mimicking the melody with all downstrokes, or exagerrated hand swinging. Nothing seems to bring any improvement, and she has been playing long enough that she should be able to strum along to a simple two or three-chord song confidently.
By the way we are not working with a pick, just simple hand strumming.
Any help?

(@bmxdude)
Estimable Member

O.K. this is how i learned. Have her hum a patern, then take a few chords that fit the the pattern, then play downstrokes(because they are easier) to fit that pattern. As simple as that. This will probably be simpler than following your pattern because it came from her own head.

"The answer is practice.
Now, what's the question?"
Words by David Mead.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

You have to be a Catholic to teach rhythm (sorry, even though it may offend some, I couldn't resist that one). :lol: :lol:

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 xg5a
(@xg5a)