Clear all

The Bad Thing About Being Self Taught

36 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

"IT LOOKS JUST LIKE A TELEFUNKINU47"

You know, I used to wonder what that line meant. I could guess but I wasn't sure.

Yea, that's an old line from Frank Zappa's Joe's Garage. I couldn't resist.

Oh, I know where it's from but what the line meant I was never sure. One could guess from the context alone but put the context of the line together with the image of a Telefunken U47 and there is no doubt about what it means. Heck, just the image and it's reasonably obvious.

It also seems that my original image link sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. I guess Telefunken is trying to prevent bandwidth thieves (like me) from linking to their images.

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@kosmos)
Eminent Member

However, I feel like I'm stuck. I've hit a plateau and I'm having a hard time moving. I recently wrote a basic song on the piano. I'm trying to put a melody over it and I'm having a real difficult time. I know the reason is because I've not yet learned how to be imaginative in creating phrases. This is limited by my lack of vocabulary.

I'm not looking to put 5 or 6 licks together. The problem is I've got things I want to say (on the guitar) but I can't form the words yet. I'm struggling with it and its getting frustrating.

For laughs, I'll ask the silly question- Anyone else go/going through this? :lol:

What's more frustrating is that I know if I had a teacher, I'd be further along. But that's not an option right now. Arggghhh

For sure being self taught has disadvantages as well as advantages but everyone has to start somewhere, with or without a teacher. You obviously have some creativity but it seems you just need to study some theory, listen to some alternative forms of music, or even plenty of your favourite artists for some inspiration.