Clear all

Amp problems

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@briank)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I only have an acoustic guitar, but a friend let me have one of his old amps because I'm planning to buy an electric.
But there is a problem: the amp makes a lot of noise- is sounds like very loud feedback. The amp is a Peavey Rage, with 12W of power.
Can anyone help? If I could fix this problem, it would go a long way in persuading me to go out and buy an electric. To be honest, I have no knowledge on how to work with amps.
Also, does anyone know of any good websites that deal with amp repair?
It's late at night, but I'll get back in a few days to better describe how it sounds. Help, as always, is much appreciated.

"All I see is draining me on my Plastic Fantastic Lover!"

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member

You mean it makes noise when nothing is plugged into it?

First thought would be someone over powered the input. Might want to check for a cold or cracked solder joint, look for any wires that may be loose or not making good contact. If its doing it only when your plugged into it then it maybe the guitar cable or the guitar itself. Is the amp anywhere near anything that it maybe picking up something from say a computer monitor, fluorescent lights, etc..

Does the amp have a three prong plug, meaning check the ground/polarity.

Joe

ReplyQuote
(@briank)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Now that I've been able to mess around with it, I think I've localized the problem. I'll try to describe it, but remember I'm no pro with amps:
I think it's something with the input, which is a little loose. I've tried several different cords, and it seems to work fine until the plug is disturbed. Then there's a loud "hum" that seems to work independent of the volume control on either the guitar or the amp. I'm trying to be careful with it, because I'm afraid of messing up my ears if I try to push the volume any farther up.