Notifications
Clear all

Custom Strat Wiring Problem!!

21 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@guitarguy1387)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone! Ok heres the deal. Ive been fooling around with moding my strat for a few years now. Ive done everything from rewiring a standard strat to adding a humbucker, changing pots and small stuff like that. After much time spent trying to figure out what i really want my strat for, ive finally got a final mod to make... the only problem is that no matter where i go i cant figure out the wiring.

heres what im trying to do:
1 dimarzio yjm in the neck position
1 seymour duncan invader in the bridge
(nothing in the middle position)
1 standard fender 3 way switch
2 500k pots (1 tone for the yjm and a master volume)

any help towards finding a solution is very appreciated!!

(@hueseph)
Noble Member

Two questions:

1: how many leads per pickup?

2: is this a Tele style guitar or a Strat but you only want the bridge and neck?

Try here:

http://guitarelectronics.zoovy.com/category/wiringresources/

https://soundcloud.com/hue-nery/hue-audio-sampler

ReplyQuote
(@guitarguy1387)
Topic starter  

first i dont know what u mean by how many leads per pickup.... and this is a strat style guitar but i only want the neck and bridge.

Ive been to guitarelectronics.com hundreds of times, nothing is exactly what i need.

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

first i dont know what u mean by how many leads per pickup.... and this is a strat style guitar but i only want the neck and bridge.

Ive been to guitarelectronics.com hundreds of times, nothing is exactly what i need.

lead = wire in this case.

He's asking about the number of wires -- shield plus insulated colored wires -- coming out of each pup. This tells us something about the wiring possibilities of each pup.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

heres what im trying to do:
1 dimarzio yjm in the neck position
1 seymour duncan invader in the bridge