Clear all

I took apart my guitar

10 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@takhara)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

To see if I could figure out what could be causing the buzzing problem I've been having, seen here:
http://forums.guitarnoise.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47823

I just took it apart a few minutes ago, since the other day I decided to hook it up to my amp and try to tune it, and no sound was going to the amp at all. Like, if I strummed a string it wouldn't transfer, but if I tapped the strings or put my hand on them, it'd break the subtle humming the amp does. So...it was getting some sort of signal, but it wasn't actually getting any notes.

I don't know how to describe it, I'm not very good with guitars right yet.

Anyways, I looked over the wires inside, and they're all attached, and I don't personally see a problem. Though, the place where the amp cord goes into the guitar, on the inside there is a black wire, and a white wire that goes farther into the guitar. The black one is attached to something, but the white one is just hanging around. Is it supposed to be like this?

If someone can possibly help me figure this out, I have a camera I could take pictures of the different parts of the guitar.

Thanks for any feedback.

(@unimogbert)
Estimable Member

The black one is attached to something, but the white one is just hanging around. Is it supposed to be like this?

If you mean that the end of the white wire isn't attached to anything it sounds like you found your problem.

Wires usually attach to stuff.

There might be the remains of the wire end with a metal blob of solder showing someplace around the plug. If so, this means the wire broke and now there's not a complete connection from the guitar to the amp (or amp cord).

Find somebody to re-solder the wire where it belongs and you're fixed. (10 minute job to do the fix)

Unimogbert
(indeterminate, er, intermediate fingerstyle acoustic)

ReplyQuote
(@takhara)
Eminent Member
Topic starter