Notifications
Clear all

New tuning questions

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@billyjoebob)
Topic starter  

Hey. I've got an Ibanez GSA60 and I've been playing guitar for three years now. During those years I've been playing in standard tuning na dwould now like to get a little more creative by changing the tuning to dropped B. Now here are my problems and questions:

The Ibanez has a floating bridge...so as soon as I lower the tuning the bridge starts to tilt backwards (away from the head) putting everything off. I open up the back and attempt to tighten the springs inside but to no avail and I'm afraid I'll put off the truss rod...summing I'm too scared to tinker with. I'm probably gonna take her in to a shop and let them handle the setup, so I'd like to know what I should ask them to do and how much it might cost (any currency is fine).

Also, if I lower the 6th E string to a B...then as I and anyone else would of expected...it goes really slack and annoying. Would it be a good idea to get a B string for a 7 string guitar and put it on in the E strings place and just keep replacing all the other strings with the next lowest string? eg: B in place of E then E in place of A and A in place of D etc..

I hope I made any sence here :D

Thanks alot

(@shadewalker)

Hi.

I use gauges 12 - 56, tuned down to 1½ to C# on my Ibanez SA120. Now, a 7-string guitar also uses a 56 gauge string for the low B, however, from my experience with my 6-string model, tuning lower than C makes it too floppy. I've never played a 7-string guitar, but I would expect much higher tension for the low B than I can set up on my 6-string guitar.