Clear all

rebuild advice needed

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@afterblast)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing guitar for about three years and I know the basics of setting up a guitar. (action, intonation, basic truss rod adjustment) however I recently purchased a les paul clone from a friend of mine, and this guitar has issues that go beyond the scope of my experience. The three main problems I have are as follows.

1 The action is at about 1/4 of an inch, The guitar is equipped with a tunomatic bridge, unfortunately it is already as low as it can go, it is touching the guitar body. As far as I can see there are two options, 1 use a router to make space below the bridge to allow it to lower farther, or use shims to raise the neck. I could use any advice on either method, or if theres something I havent thought about. (either way I have a woodshop with the tools do just about anything.)

2 near as I can tell the original strip type tuners were at some point replaced with a decent set of grover tuners, however they are the strat type and the three high string tuners were simply flipped and installed upside down. At some point I heard that this is really bad for them and that it destroys the gears. I haven't had the chance to really test how well they hold tune, so I don't know if they are still worth keeping. Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated, If they are salvagable then I will probably install them on a squire strat that I have and put the right type of tuners on the clone.

3 The body is made out of 1/2 inch boards glued together, something in it either the glue, the wood or the finish reeks! It's only on the inside of the body and i guess the best description of it would be that it smells like turpintine, it's not really a criticle problem but it's kind of annoying and I would greatly appreciate any ideas for removing it.