Clear all

*~ S T R I N G Z ~*

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@musicfreak14)
Topic starter  

Ok here's the issue...

I've been playing my guitar for 2 years, but it's 5 years old, it wasn't played for 3 years until I picked it up.

None of the strings have ever broken.
I've heard a lot about having to change the strings often.......

SO....should I change the strings, or wait till one breaks or something?!?!?!!?

If you think I should, can you tell me how...never done it before. :oops:

Thnxz

btw: it's an Arial Pro II (STG series) (which is like a strat.)

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Opinions vary. The recommendation to change strings often usually comes from those whose like a fresh, bright tone from their guitars. Strings deteriorate in several ways -- dirt, corrosion, loss of elasticity. The effects of these degradations rob the strings of their brightness, sustain and nice smooth feel. This usually gets players to change strings anywhere from one a week (a lot!) to every several months, depending upon playing time, dirt/sweat and tonal preferences. The other thing that happens to old strings is wear at the fretting points. This creates thinned out regions that will not only affect tone, but intonation and tuning stability.

I'm on the end of the spectrum that does not change strings frequently -- a little loss of brightness does not bother me for my style of playing, and I find "worked" strings more comfortable. But I'm picky about tuning and intonation. If either of those start to go, those strings are history -- and the entire set gets changed, not just one offender. And I never tolerate more than slight discoloration, as that's an indication of going south due to corrosion. If I grab one of my guitars for a gig, and it hasn't had a string change in recent memory, it gets a new set pre-gig.