Notifications
Clear all

"Unbendable String Mystery"

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@cheapotn)
Topic starter  

I have a small collection of guitars (Ibanez, Gretsch, Jackson) going, but I thought it would be a cool idea to just go around and find some scrap parts and just build my own "Frankenstrat". I found a super-cheap Ibanez body, a no-name neck, and picked up the cheapest set of tuners that I could find. I dropped a humbucker from an Ibanez SZ320 in there, and to be a guitar that I built for $50 it sounds decent!

There's a big problem though. The strings WILL NOT bend. I've been playing for 10 years, so it really isn't a matter of strength. I lowered the action, switched the strings over from 10s to 9s, and even took out a spring to see if that would affect anything. I still have to strain my hardest to achieve a whole step bend on any string, and vibrato while bending is impossible.

What the heck's going on here? Are some really cheaply made guitars just screwy like that?

Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

Whuh? If you can't bend a 9...you should refer this anomoly to Ricochet...he's a doctor!

Ric???

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

That doesn't make any sense to me either.

String tension is directly related to scale length and string gauge. If you're using 9s, you'd need to have a LONGGGGG neck on the thing to get enough tension to prevent you from bending.

The only thing I can think of would be grooves worn into the frets, making the string bind. But it's not likely that would happen on more than a fret or two. So I'm stumped.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Yea I was going to say it must be binding on something can't think of anything else.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@imalone)
Reputable Member