Clear all

Help, Please! I'm new to midi

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@english-one)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ok, So I've got my midi keyboard, my sound card, and a connecting cable, and cubase (Version 5 I think). I've plugged them all in. It all seems to be working.

However, my only experience of midi is at college, and I don't often use it the (and it's already set up there!). My big problem here is selecting the instrument. I can't seemt to access the standard set of midi sounds on my computer. I can only change it on the actual keyboard.

I can't work out how to change the instrument without using the actual keyboard.

I'm sure this is quite simple, but I can't work out how to do it.

any help would be useful!

Thankyou

Peter

(@furious_b)
Eminent Member

hey,

Do you have a sound moduale, or a synth, that's what gives you all your sounds, you can have outboard ones and digital ones on the computer (i've never used cubase so i don't know if it has one or not) To get the sounds from the keyboard you have to play with some of the input settings and you need a USB interface so the signal can get into the computer. Hope that helps.

ReplyQuote
(@strunglikeahorse)
Eminent Member

Hey man! I will assume that everything is working fine - you press keys, sound comes out, etc. :)

To change sounds without using the keyboard, you need to use some basic MIDI controller messages.

Quickest way to do this, is as follows.

Set your locators to 1 bar in length. Create a new midi track, and double click in between the locators to create an empty part. Click once on the newly created part, and press CTRL + G. This will open up list edit. Now, bring up your pencil tool.