Notifications
Clear all

cleaning a tube amp

10 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter  

Hi folks, my tube amp is over 40 years old and needs a good clean up... something I've never done before. So how do you clean a tube amp? What products and tools do you use? Anything I should watch out for?

Thanks!

(@stratman_el84)
Estimable Member

Hi folks, my tube amp is over 40 years old and needs a good clean up... something I've never done before. So how do you clean a tube amp? What products and tools do you use? Anything I should watch out for?

Thanks!

First, use a soft-bristled toothbrush and/or paintbrush (small) and canned compressed air available at any computer supply location to clear out the major dust-bunnies, etc. For cleaning controls, pots, and switches use a good quality *lubricated* tuner-cleaner. DO NOT USE WD-40!!! If the cleaner is not lubricated, it'll wash away the grease and will cause the pot/switch to freeze up and/or lose the nice 'feel'. Spray a little cleaner into the pot or switch, and work it through its' range repeatedly. Don't flood the pot or switch excessively, as this can also rinse away the factory grease and leave the pot/switch feeling loose and cause problems. For cleaning tube sockets, use a *non-residue* type tuner/contact cleaner. You don't want any lubricant left behind on tube sockets, as it will attract grime and lead to arcing.