Notifications
Clear all

Equipment choice help....

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@tonks)
Topic starter  

Hi guys an awol guitarist reporting for duty after a 20 year leave :)

As someone who has forgotten most of what I self taught myself all those years ago, I now have the urge to carry on from where I left off.

My questions revolve around equipment, I have more or less decided on an Epiphone Les Paul, I dont want to quickly grow dissastified with a very cheap guitar so the Epiphone should keep me happy for a while?

My main confusion is choice of amplification. I will be practicing at home so dont want something big and loud, I was thinking of a Marshal MG15 DFX or perhaps I shouldnt bother with the Marshal and instead get a V-AMP 2 or Line6 GuitarPort to hook up to my pc? I have usb but not midi tho I could get a card....

ps I am to go into hospital later on today for 5 days so I will look forward to your replies when (if :) ) I escape..... :)

Mark

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to the Asylum for the Musically Insane.  Hope all goes well at the hospital.

I'm going to move your thread down to amps and efx where I think you'll get faster responses.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

First of all, best wishes in the hospital. Hope all goes well.

As for amplification, at home I just use the V-amp2 through a 4.1 surround stereo set. It sounds awesome, just as it should. If volume is not an issue, it is a great option. I would rather have the V-amp (or pod), since the Guitarport only works with computers. When you get an amp later you can use the V-amp/POD with it.

ReplyQuote
(@tonks)
Topic starter  

Thanks for the lightning replys :)

Promedics, if I get the V-AMP 2 can that be hooked up to my pc so I can use the speakers I have?

Mark

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)