Clear all

The eternal amp question:  which one?

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@corbind)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing for two years next month and have only played through three amps in that time.  I play a Gibson SG through a Roland VG-88 multi effects processor to an amp.  When I first started I played through a Peavey 60w bass amp (1x12”) because I used to play bass guitar before I sold it and got a guitar.  It sounded decent and the bass amp certainly sounded bass-y especially with an SG.  

Anyway, I gave that to a friend as a going away present and bought a Tech 21 Power Engine 60 watt 1 x 12”.  Reviews on Harmony Central said they were a fantastic transparent amp to be great with my effects processor.  Yea, it had a great transparent sound (better than the amps I use now) but all the controls were on the back of the amp and it annoyed me.  Yea, on the back of the amp.  So with only an hour of use I sold it.  Then I bought two Roland KC-100 60 watt (1-12”) amps.  They have a small tweeter cone because it is mostly used for keyboards.  Or for PA's.  They don't sound so good with that squawky tweeter (I wish I could just disconnect it) but I've been using them for now.  One at home and one at band practice.

About a month ago I was asked to join a band.  I'm not the greatest rhythm guitarist in the world and I don't have a mountain of raw talent.  I have to work hard.  The other guitar player says I should sell my two Roland amps and my VG-88 processor and just buy one nice amp.  He says all musicians start off buying all kinds of amps, pedals and crap only to (years later when they are more experienced) to make it simple with everything coming just out of the amp.  He has told me many times that you only need reverb, chorus, and distortion—that's it.