Skip to content
Getting a 1965 Bass...

Notifications
Clear all

Getting a 1965 Bassman Head, Speaker Cab questions..

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@hvrock13)
Topic starter  

First off, I'd like to say that I'm new here. So hi! But about my question, I've got the awesome opportunity to buy a 1965 Fender Blackface Bassman head. Retubed and everything. Now, I understand this amp is 4 ohms. I'm not an expert or even close to one when it comes to electronics or impedance, just started researching it today but I've had no luck finding an answer to my problem. You see, I have a Behringer 4x12 cabinet, each speaker is 8 ohms, and its total impedance is 8 ohms. (By the way, correct me if I'm using the wrong terminology, I could use some more knowledge on this stuff). I don't want to risk damaging the amp if I do get it, and I've read mismatching the impedance of the amp and the cabinet is a no-go for tube amps. But I've also heard that the Bassman is a tough amp, and it won't have a problem with the 8 ohm speaker cab. I've been running a Marshall Valvestate 8100 at 4 ohms into the same speaker cabinet for 3 years, and the previous owner was too, but it recently stopped working, so I'm not sure if its because of the mismatch or not. So I'm a bit skeptical. In short though, I'm wondering if I could rewire the cabinet to be 4 ohms, or if disabling 2 speakers and running the other 2 in parallel to proved 4 ohms, or if I should just sell the cab. Bad thing is, the cabinet isn't worth much, and the cabinet they offer with the head (optionally) is a '67 Bandmaster cabinet. But I've looked that up, and it seems to be at 8 ohms too, and its a 2x12 cabinet. So I'm extremely confused, and just want to keep it as cheap as possible. I'd prefer modding my current cabinet, if possible. I also thought it might be important to note it has a stereo/mono switch on the back, not sure if that would cut the resistance or not? Like I said, I'm new to the technical stuff with amps. Any help would be