Clear all

How do I connect my head to my cab??

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
17.2 K Views
(@osakamitsu)
Topic starter  

Im sure this is a silly question but I am a noob when it comes to cabs. I never really had to worry about this in the past. So I just bought a brand new Peavey 6505+ and a new yet used Marshall JCM 900 1960A cab, and the connections on the back are not as straight forward as they are on my peavey cab. I want to make sure I do this correctly so I don't damage the head.

Here is a pic of the back of the cab and the settings on the 6505+.

How do I correctly connect the head for 1 cab use as well as 2 cabs for a full stack if I wanted too? And which ohm setting should be selected for both situations?

I also do not know what mono and stereo means? Is mono single cab and stereo 2 cabs?

Please if you can answer this, do so in idiot terms. lol

Thanks for any input...

(@trguitar)
Famed Member

I looked up the manual for the Marshall cab online and it says that in the mono setting the cab runs at 4 ohms from the right input. I would set the thing to mono and set my amp at 4 ohms and plug into the right input. Stereo seperates the cab into two halfs, 8 ohms for each set of two speakers. In mono you will be running all four speakers. It says if you select mono and use the left input the impedance is 16 ohms. If you used that jack you would set your head to 16 ohms. Make sense? Here is a link to the cabinets manual.

http://marshallamps.com/downloads/files/Cabs%20Hbk.pdf

For two cabs we would need to know the impedance of the Peavey cab. Your jacks on your head say they are paralled so if your Peavey cab was 16 ohms you would be set. You could run both cabs in the 16 ohm mode and when parralled the total resistance would be 8 ohms and you would use that setting on your head. This is confusing isn't it?