Clear all

impedence

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

well, im totally lost. i have a valveking v212 and i love the lead channel and the pinch harmonics i can get from it. however
Q1 - the clean channel sounds a bit muddy when i strum chords but not when i play scales or other one note at a time stuff -even with the bright switch on. any ideas on how to sort this out?
q2. there is also an impedenc swith at the back that says 4,8, or 16 ohms. i havent played with it because im not sure weather this is only to be used if i was feeding the amp through other speakers or not, and i dont want to break anything. doe anybody know what it is for, and if it will affect the tone? thanks

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Normally, the impedance switch is only there for when speakers, other than whatever comes as standard, is replaced. So, if you were to attach an external cab or you replaced the standard speaker(s) with speakers having a different impedance, you would need to set the switch appropriately.

As for the muddiness, it could be the pickups. You don't say what the guitar is (and what pickups are fitted). My first guess would be that they're humbuckers.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

there wilkinson pickups - so not brilliant ones, but i dont get the muddy sound from my practice amps?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member