Notifications
Clear all

Static/hissing from my amp

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@mgmorden)
Topic starter  

Hey guys. Got a quick question for anyone more experienced out there.

I've got a relatively low cost amp (a Stagg GA10) that I just want to use for practice - I'm a beginner. I've got some problems with it though, and I'd prefer to try and fix them at home due to a limited budget - I'm pretty good with a soldering iron.

The amp seems to work fine if I output my computer to it using the 1/8" stereo input jack on the front. If I plug in a guitar cable into the the 1/4" phono jack though, I get a low but noticeable static in the background (before the other end is even plugged into the guitar). Touching the grounding sleeve on the opposite end of the cable immediately kills the static. I thought maybe I had a bad cable, but I tried 2 other cables I had (all different brands) and get the same behavior. Also, if I plug the guitar (a Dean EVO XM) in, the background noise will generally persist unless I touch the strings at which time it goes away. Strangely enough either turning the volume all the way up on the guitar or the tone all the way up, the static will generally go away - volume all the way down on the guitar also takes away the static.

I was thinking that the input jack on the amp might just be bad, but figured I'd ask before starting to replace it.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Are you making sure that your 1/8" cable is indeed a stereo cable? I assume it is, if it is okay by itself.

So, is the 1/4" cable okay by itself - are you saying the problem comes from there? Does it happen without the computer hookup?

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

ReplyQuote
(@mgmorden)
Topic starter