Clear all

Another new member... ;)

22 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@voidious)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Hey all - I've been reading the lessons and forums at the site here for a few weeks, so it seemed as good a time as any to introduce myself. I'm a mid-twenties Software Engineer that enjoys long nights Robocoding ( http://robowiki.net ), drunken Smash Bros, and planning my vacations so I can see Rush twice on the coming tour. =)

I played guitar for about 2 years in my early teens, was in a band, played tons of Nirvana covers, wrote some original songs, played at some school dances, recorded a terrible demo tape, and generally had a ton of fun with it. I thought I rocked, of course, but I really never got that good or tried to learn many new skills. I just started playing again 3 months ago and am absolutely loving it, learning all I can, practicing, and considering if/when I should start with some lessons.

I was blissfully ignorant, practicing every day on my beat up old Mexican Strat, until I visited the local guitar store this week. I'd been planning on getting something new in the next few months, but that turned into a few days when I realized just how much easier those decent / new guitars were to play. After several trips to the store, my PRS SE Custom will arrive in a couple weeks. =) I feel like I disobeyed a golden rule about playing a guitar before buying it, but every PRS I played felt great and I just really wanted the Custom over the Santana SEs they had (which would've been my choice from what they did have).

Impressively positive, open, and knowledgeable community you have here, I'm glad to have found it. That "What you've learned" thread is gold, too.

-- Voidious

-- Voidious

Posted : 30/05/2007 1:07 am
(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

welcome voidious 8)

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

Posted : 30/05/2007 1:13 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member