Notifications
Clear all

Can ya stand another n00b?

27 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@brgminicooper)
Topic starter

Hi. I'm new to guitar and have been reading the posts and info here at guitarnoise and am very appreciative of the fact that this site even exists. Good stuff! :D

Anyway, I've only been seriously practicing for the last three weeks or so - I purchased a Yamaha FG700s with which to practice and have spent many happy hours strumming/plucking away at it. Despite the abuse I mete out upon it in my ham-fisted/-handed/-fingered approach to learning guitar, I love practicing and have managed to master a few riffs, most of the major chords, and am working on my chord changes and mastering the minor chords.

Additionally, because I am a teacher and am helping a friend of mine to record his efforts to teach physics using guitars, I will soon be earning an electric guitar.

The good: It's free and I get to choose either a strat or tele.

The bad: It's a kit and I have to put it together myself (but my friend is a luthier, so he can probably keep me from screwing it up too badly).

The ugly: It'll need to be painted, so I have to either design my own paint job to give to still another amigo, or let it be unfinished wood.

Finally, to whomever runs this site: thanks. Lots of good information that has been of tremendous help to me in my quest to learn something about playing guitar. :D

Illegitimus non carborundum.

Posted : 24/08/2006 3:50 am
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Welcome!

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

Posted : 24/08/2006 9:04 am
 Pet
(@pet_1567860324)
Estimable Member

Hey There and Welcome to GN.

Congrats on the free guitar. You will find great advice on the 'Guitar Repair & Maintenance' board. Keep us updated with the project though and what if any paint job you decide on.

See you around.

-Pet

"We Are The Facilitators Of Our Own Creative Evolution".

Posted : 24/08/2006 9:45 am
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Welcome to us

Geoo