Clear all

Great Website and Forums!!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

I have been playing guitar for 11 months now and I have been making good use of Guitar Noise (especially Easy Songs For Beginners).

I live in Nova Scotia, Canada, I am 38 so a little bit of a late starter and the guitar is my first foray into anything musical ,so far I am loving it.
I have an acoustic (seagull) and an electric (strat) and enjoy them both. If I have any frustrations with guitar it is that I seem to bounce from thing to thing a lot and I don't know if it is good or bad. I get lessons 1/2hr per week and do my homework and I work from the lessons on Guitar noise a lot and i also find stuff in books that I work with. It seems like a lot when I list it but I don't know if this is typical or not. I never seem to finish stuff.

As for type of music lately I seem to be focusing on learning Blues from a book by David Hamburger and I am enjoying it. I also have a strong interest in classic rock and I want to be able to play for family/friends camping and at the cottage.

I enjoy the guitar noise site and hope to enjoy the forums as well.

Posted : 07/01/2009 5:17 pm
(@rum-runner)
Reputable Member

Hi, RoundI, and welcome.

I can relate because I was a late starter, too- in my case I was 46 when I finally decided to get serious about learning after a few half-hearted attempts earler in life.

As far as wandering around- I think that's not unusual for someone who is still getting started and trying to figure out what direction to go. Once you dig into this, you find that the world of guitar is so wide open, there are so many things you can learn. It would be impossible even in several lifetimes to learn everything there is to know.