Skip to content
Hello, and a few wo...

Notifications
Clear all

Hello, and a few words on my new... er, my son's new '51.

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@bigh29)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hello all. I'm a 35 year old beginner. I haven't posted yet, but I have been lurking for the last 6 months. You don't know me obviously, but I recognize most you from your forum posts. I haven't posted because I'm too much of a noob too offer any good advice, and every question I have thought of so far has already been posted and answered before.

I bought my guitar 7 years ago and tried teaching myself to play. I was floored by how difficult it was. I thought I could just jump up and down, bang my head, and that great music would just flow out of the amp. It didn't quite work that way. Life got busy, and I quit playing for 3 years. This year, I decided to get back at it. I am using this site and some youtube lessons to try and learn again. I may take some real lessons later this year. Overall, it is going much better this time around. I'm still not very good, but this time I won't be quitting.

Anyway, I decided a couple weeks ago to buy a setup for my son. He is 15. He started playing my guitar about a year ago, but then quit playing. He said he would play if he had is own, but up until now, I have been too cheap to buy him anything. He is even cheaper than me, so the net result has been no guitar for him. Well, I finally broke down and bought him something. Based on information that I found on this forum, I decided on the following:

Squier '51. Purchased new on samash for $99.
Roland 2 W Micro cube amp, used on ebay for $65
Plus a cable and tuner from samash
Total cost = $194 delivered.