Clear all

Sayin' hey

13 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@margaret)
Noble Member
Topic starter

Guess it's time to actually introduce myself here.

I'm Margaret from Wisconsin, USA, and have been learning guitar for about a year and a half. Notice I say "learning", not "playing", as I don't think I qualify yet as a "guitar player." I'm 45 years old and had sorta kinda tried to play guitar as a 12-year-old (with one of those cheap Harmony acoustics that belonged to my brother). At 17 I let my boyfriend talk me into buying a Fender strat, which he dinked around with, but I never learned. Passed that along to my nephew years ago.

Couple years ago my son wanted a guitar for Christmas, so we got him a mini acoustic. He stuck with it in spite of the cruddy guitar, so we moved up and got him an Ibanez, which I started playing around with, and eventually I started lessons, too. Now my son is almost 12 and we are both enjoying guitar, both electric and acoustic.

I've played piano practically my whole life, but learning guitar is a whole 'nother thing. So glad I've found this community of resources, support and FUN!

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

Posted : 25/01/2006 2:39 pm
(@ghost)
Prominent Member

Welcome to GN margaret!!!

You're a guitar player, you just don't realize it. :)

"If I had a time machine, I'd go back and tell me to practise that bloody guitar!" -Vic Lewis

Everything is 42..... again.

Posted : 25/01/2006 2:53 pm
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

it's official then, Howdy and Welcome to GN (belated)

#4491....

Posted : 25/01/2006 3:01 pm
(@margaret)
Noble Member
Topic starter

Thanks for the welcome, peoples!

Looking forward to getting to know everyone better, and learning lots more. :!:

I'm amazed how many 40-somethings there are who, like me, have taken up guitar at this stage in life.

How COOL is GN?! Awesome place. 8)

Margaret

Posted : 25/01/2006 3:29 pm