Clear all

Buying a first electric guitar

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@faultythinking)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

First off, apologies if I'm posting in the wrong forum - I um'd and ah'd about whether this should be in Opinions and Polls...

I'm going to buy my first electric guitar - hopefully quite soon. I've been playing an acoustic for about 10 months now. I'm in the fortunate position of taking up this hobby when I'm of an age where I can splash out a bit, rather than have to be completely budget-conscious. I'm also in the lucky position of living in London (UK that is, not Ontario or anywhere like that :D ) so I can get to the (in)famous Denmark Street.

So (warning - I have a feeling this is going quite rambly and maybe won't have a specific question at the end of it!) I've visited all the guitar shops along Denmark Street, and tried a few different styles of electric, to try and get a feel for what I wanted. From what I had previously read and imagined, I thought I'd want a crunchy rock effort like a Les Paul (copy!), but I surprised myself. I tried a Tokai, Hagstrom and some other not-heard-of-before LP copy and didn't really like them. What I really found myself liking were Fenders. Not all, mind.

The bad? A strat (Lonestar?) that I tried. I didn't get on with the neck profile at all.
The reasonable - a thinline Telecaster.
The pretty good - the Jazzmasters, and also a Classic Player Baja Tele. That latter had some great tones!

The outright winner, though? The CP Jaguar. The neck, for example, just felt "right". And the sounds I got out of it (random chords as any semblance of playing ability abandoned me in the store) were great too.