Notifications
Clear all

Christmas Gifts....

15 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@kathleen)
Topic starter  

Ok... newbie here and maybe I'm a bit obsessed/overwhelmed/inLOVE with this whole guitar world - wouldn't call it full-blown *gas*, but did occur to me today that since I really can't really justify getting any more stuff for myself yet, I COULD get all my grown kids guitars for Christmas... maybe someday we can all play together.. :P

Besides practicing, I blew more time than I'd care to admit on eBay tonight looking for the *perfect* instrument for each of them.

Finally realized it's a classic problem: I don't know what I don't know.
GN to the rescue.. seems there's a place to ask ANY question, so would really love to hear your opinions...

I want to get each of them a "pre-owned" guitar/bass - something unique, with some character as opposed to a new/beginner setup..
I've got ~$200-$250 budgeted (without accessories) for each kid.

Here's some background on each of them:

SON #1: 27yrs old, would like to get him a bass guitar.
style: jock with an edge,
works in sales, loves kickboxing/baseball
musical background: played sax for 3 yrs in school; has owned acoustic guitars and also electronic drums (nothing currently); father's a drummer.
grew up listening to classis/alternative rock
Favorite music: Linkin Park, Ludicris, Nirvana

DAUGHTER-IN-LAW (SON #1's wife): 29yrs old, would like to get her an electric guitar.
style: bleeding edge fashion, jaw-dropping gorgeous.
student, works part-time at Coffee shop.
musical background: ? I don't know if she's ever played anything. She likes to karaoke with the rest of us...
grew up listening to: Frank Sinatra and ????
Favorite music: Korn, but she's also brought me some random oldies too.. like "The Association"

SON #2: 22yrs old. would like to get him an electric guitar.
style: indie/free-spirit, shops exclusively at thrift stores
5th yr college, part time investment telemarketing.