Clear all

Fat Strat as first electric guitar

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@jewtemplar)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

My name's Sam, and I'm a 2-year student of the acoustic guitar returning to the forum after a hiatus, and am looking to buy my first electric. I have been borrowing my cousin's squier strat (standard series), and have found it enjoyable, although the hum sometimes gets on my nerves.
The guitarists who most consistently inspire me are Keith Richards, Duane Allman, Eric Clapton, and David Gilmour. I know that these guys are most associated with the telecaster, les paul, stratocaster, and stratocaster respectively. I know that I need not necessarily buy one of these guitars, but I figured they were good places to start. I've tried playing a (high end) telecaster in the store, and found the body shape somewhat uncomfortable, and couldn't manage to tame the twangy sound. Since I play a lot sitting down I think that might be a deal breaker. I like the body shapes and looks of both the lp and strat, so I'm considering both strongly, but I don't anticipate playing too much on the heavy side of things, so I figure a strat would fit my needs better. That said, I'm not sure if the annoyance of the single coil hum is a function of the cheap guitar and amp I'm currently using or a characteristic of the strat itself, and I do relish the kind of tone Allman could pump out of his lp. The "Fat Strat" line, from what I've read, is a strat with 2 single coil and 1 humbucker, perhaps serving as a compromise between the strat and lp, but I'm somewhat skeptical.

Anyone have experience with Fat Strats? I'd love to hear any information on their advantages/disadvantages with respect to either strats or lps. Any recommendations either way would be much appreciated, as would other less ubiquitous guitars in the sub-$1000 range that would be good fits.

~Sam

~Sam

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

if the price is right and you like it then i say "go for it".