Clear all

Lost Inspiration

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@threegtrz)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 35 years now. I've been in a number of groups with varying degrees of success. At the beginning of this year, I attempted to start a group from scratch - finding like-minded musicians to play gigs and have fun doing so. Six months into this project, it fell completely through. In the two months since then, I haven't so much as touched my instruments. I'll go downstairs and see them hanging up and I'll turn around and walk out. I just don't seem to feel even the slightest inclination to practice.

Part of my issue is I am very frustrated about the opportunities in my area. Besides being very close-knit and a population resistant to outsiders (of which I am one), all of the bands around here are content to play only the same mind numbing Classic Rock standards that have been done by bands for decades (Mustang, Brown-Eyed Girl, etc). While I don't dispute the audience for these tunes, I feel there are enough bands playing them to not just be another lemming.

I am working towards relocating to a larger city, mostly to improve our quality of life, but a big perk might be additional musical angles.

Anybody here go through this? I know I need to get my head straight, but I just don't feel like I give a damn. Maybe I just needed a break and I'll get the passion again.

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

If it's any consolation I'm in one of those mind numbing classic rock bands...Ha. Actually we play alittle less mainstream songs than Mustang Sally or Brown Eyed Girl which are both songs I personally can't stand but it seems most bar crowds love them.