Notifications
Clear all

New Years Guitar Goals?

38 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

Im not sure to be honest how much it cost as I also had a pre amp tube that needed changing, so overall, including the price of the tube it was £45 - but i have no idea how much of that went towards the tube, and how much to biasing the new power tubes i had put in myself.

i havent managed to try it out yet, so i hope i am pleasantly surprised when do :D

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

One preamp tube is pretty inexpensive maybe $20 USD or so. I'm suprised he is only changing one. I have 3 in the Hot Rod and I changed all my tubes 3 preamp and the 2 power amp tubes. the power tubes are the only ones that get biased.

Not sure what the exchange rate is these days but the actual biasing only takes a few minutes, taking the back off and putting it back takes the most time.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

But if nothing else happens, I'd like to finally find a decent tone. I've complained about it for awhile and even though the Jekyl and Hyde pedal was the best sound I found it still wasn't what I was looking for.

You'd think after all these years I'd be able to sit down and just eventually dial in a decent tone but I can't/haven't been able to it and it annoys me.

The distortioon always sounds thin and brittle. I am very hesitant to drop $300 on the ME-70 only to find out I get the same tone.

• Turn the guitar volume and tones all the way up.

• Turn the amp up to the loudest that you want it to get.

• Dial in a good clean tone.

• Turn on the OD pedal.

• Start with the pedal gain on 0 and the pedal output level maxed out.