The Long of It

12 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@rahul)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

6 min, 10 min, 20 min song ?

Consider this - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/arts_and_culture/8252444.stm

I wonder how could he compose such long piece ?

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

wow - is it really 100o years long?? or does it just sound so bad it feels that way :lol:

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I am trying to recall if there is a John Cage piece that is immensely long. :idea:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Is it just me, or did the words "What a waste of time" occur to anyone else?

:) :) :)

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

There is a Cage piece - I think it's called ASLAP (As Slow As Possible). It's been performed many times at 20-30 minutes, but there's a performance underway now... I think in Germany, but I could be wrong... that started about 10 years ago. They're doing something like one beat per year, and it'll take something more than 6 centuries.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@ghost)
Prominent Member

AWW MAN!!!! I missed the first decade of the piece already. Too late to ask to start over isn't it? :note1: :note2:

"If I had a time machine, I'd go back and tell me to practise that bloody guitar!" -Vic Lewis

Everything is 42..... again.

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member