Clear all

When is the correct time to switch teachers

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I have been going to the same teacher for about 1.5years now. I have been playing for a little under two years. He is a classic rock guy and although I enjoy classic rock etc I don't generally have a desire to sit and play "ac/dc" in my living room. The family find it a little loud and annoying as well. I enjoy a lot of types of music and I would like to be exposed to a good variety. I have had a couple of teachers now and I found that they generally don't have a teaching plan for me. Is this the gneral rule?

I have heard about another instructor not far from my home who plays mostly acoustic folk /rock /celtic styles and I am thinking of switching but I am worried that I may just be getting impatient in my learning. I don't want to burn any bridges.

Currently I am doing my guitar teacher lesson "You shook me all night long" and also working though Easy songs for beginners as a bit of a counterpoint.

Any advice?

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

If you feel that you're not getting what you need, or that you've "outgrown" your teacher, then it's time for a new one. And, you don't have to burn any bridges, in case you decide to go back.

I would just tell my current teacher that I am interested in learning "acoustic folk /rock /celtic styles", and, unless he steps up and says "OK, we can start working on that", then tell him that you've found someone who teaches that and that you'd like to give it a try for a while to "widen your horizons". Do it in a way that doesn't knock your current teacher completely out of the water, let him know that, if the "acoustic folk /rock /celtic styles" aren't really what you're looking for, that you'll be back (whether you intend to or not). Teachers gain and lose students regularly. I'm sure he'll be fine with it and wish you good luck in your future pursuits. Honesty is the best policy.

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-