Modern Method for Gtr Vols 1-2-3 by Will Leavitt

28 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
16 K Views
(@ovation_player)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Got this for Christmas! My family is aware of my guitar obsession I guess.  These volumes are designed to make you a good sight reader and develop  good technique.  Since my #1 goal is to learn how to sight read I am going to stick with this book for a while and get back to the stetina book later.

Published by berklee press this book is used by the berklee school of music.

I just started using it.  So far I really like it.  It doesn't use any familiar tunes  so it "forces" you to read. The exercises have single notes double stops and chords so it covers the gamut of what you might see in sheet music for the guitar.

It might be a bit fast paced for the absolute beginner I am on excersise 10 and we have already done reading exercises with all notes in first position c major scale and  a couple of different forms of major triads in c major --c, f, g, g7.  Also  there's not a lot of instruction on fingering but since I have been playing for a while this is not a problem for me. So far the exercises are all in 4/4 time using whole, half and quarter notes.  Each successive exercise seems to build on the previous one.

Since I have been playing for awhile the book seems well suited to me and my goal of being able to sight read.  So far it's not too slow  and doesn't have tedious and repetitive exercises and is just challenging enough to hold my interest without being too difficult to make me frustrated.  I'll keep you posted on how it goes.

In the meantime if anybody else has used the book and has any opinions on it please share them

"This song starts off kinda slow then fizzles out altogether" Neil Young

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member