Skip to content
Starting out fresh,...

Notifications
Clear all

Starting out fresh, Mel Bay Method anyone?

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Hi:

As a High School student, I tried to learn in earnest to play the Guitar - and unfortunatly I was too young and had other interests that distracted me from the study.  Eventually, I dropped out.

So now, as I head towards the big 4-0; my desire to learn the guitar has taken over and I again want to learn.  (But this time, I have the girl, the job, the kids, and the junk.)

So I tore off to the music store and pondered the selection of materials.  My goals are to be able to competently play, and be able to pick up a song book and figure out the notes (read music.)  I came across the "Mel Bay's Modern Guitar Method" and saw Grades 1-3 in the store (gasp, and the series goes through 7!)

I liked the look of the series.  In the first volume, the start out with the basics:  Here's how you hold the guitar, here are what notes look like, and then they proceed onto the notes on each string.  As I proceeded, I remembered that the material was the book I had learned from earlier (em, 17 years ago - is that possible?)  Each string is presented with the notes, some warm up exercises - then some nonsensical songs composed of the few (but increasing) notes you know.  All proceeds well and you are gifted with some very 'cool' rewards in the music.  (The G string gives you "Aura Lee" (Elvis' Love me tender) D string gives you "Amazing Grace.")  As you learn, new rewards in familiar songs.

So in a week, I've made it through to the E string (whew, tough work!)  And this is where, from my perspective, things begin to get a bit hairy.  Chords are introduced - LOOK AT ALL THOSE NOTES!  Fortunatly, they post little reminders of the chords above the notes (this is a C chord, dummy!)  It works for me, though.  Hairy - but it's so far working.